The Arkansas Lemon Law, like the lemon laws across the country has been written to protect the consumer from vehicles that prove to be defective. In the most basic of terms; if you buy a new car and it doesn’t work properly you have recourse, namely a refund or a replacement.
The Arkansas Lemon Law details what is considered to be a lemon in the state, what solutions there are to fix the defect and what remedies are available to the buyer of a vehicle that simply cannot be repaired.
Details of the Arkansas Lemon Law:
If you purchase a new vehicle in the state and it does not perform in accordance with the implied warranty, you, as the consumer are expected to attempt a resolution of the problem directly with the vehicle manufacturer or the authorized dealer representative. When you purchased the new car it was accompanied by a warranty, the dealer should be in a position to facilitate any and all repairs that are necessary.
If you new vehicle has a defect that in any way might cause death or serious injury it should meet the intention of the law, however, the vehicle is not covered forever. The Arkansas Lemon Law does not apply to vehicles that are over 24 months old or have over 24,000 miles on the odometer or for the duration of the new car warranty. The law in Arkansas does not apply to motorcycles, the living space of a motor home or any vehicle that weighs in excess of 13,000 pounds.
Resolution and settlement:
If you feel that your car meets the definition of a lemon it is up to you to contact the manufacturer or dealer, either must be given a number of opportunities to repair the defect. If the defect is such that driving the car will put the driver or passengers at risk of serious injury or death the manufacturer is obliged to make immediate repairs otherwise the manufacturer is given three chances. If, after three attempts the defect is still not fixed then you are obliged to advise the manufacturer and give them one final chance to fix the problem. Within ten days of receiving your notification the manufacturer must repair the problem within a further ten days or replace or repurchase the vehicle. This action, which is your choice, must take place within 40 days of the final failure to repair the vehicle.
If you have purchased a vehicle in Arkansas and it is defective to the point where it is a danger to the occupants then you may be eligible for a refund or replacement under the terms of the Arkansas Lemon Law. For details you are invited to contact Krohn & Moss Consumer Law Center or visit YourLemonLawRights.com